Eglo Records Vol. 1 – anniversary compilation

The London label’s history from 2008. to 2011. will be out next month as a double-CD and there’s certainly no better way to celebrate their first four years then through this compilation.


Founded in 2008, Eglo’s tight-knit roster includes FunkinEven, Fatima, Arp 101, Gifted & Blessed and Miss Beatz, as well as Floating Points, who co-runs the label with Alexander Nut. Its sound is willfully diverse, touching on boogie, house, hip-hop, jazz and acid.

Eglo Records Vol. 1 contains a mix of label classics, releases that were previously vinyl-only and four exclusive new tracks (including a previously unreleased Floating Points song in “Wires”). As Juno Plus report, the tracklist runs in chronological order, charting the imprint’s progress from its first 7-inch in 2009 to Floating Points’s lauded Shadows release in 2011. It also includes a foreword by Alexander Nut and a 20-page booklet featuring photos from Vent Fury.

The label says the compilation will be followed by releases from new signings Dirg Gerner and Strange U, as well as old hands Floating Points and Fatima, the latter of whom has an album on the way.

Eglo will host a party to celebrate the CD’s release later this year, although full details are yet to be announced.

Here’s a little something to enjoy until the compilation comes…




Written by Ana

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *